To Edit or Not to Edit – El Matador State Beach Sunset

In various blog’s & magazines I have read a lot about editing or tweaking shots. I know the goal is to get the shot right in the camera but I enjoy going back and looking at old pictures and re-editing them.

IMG_0762

This is the original picture. It was taken at El Matador Beach in Malibu, California on January 1st, 2013. At the time I was happy with the picture.

As my skills increased, including my editing skills, I like to look back and see what I can learn from what I though were mistakes as well as great shots.

IMG_0762-2

Here is the results of re-editing the same picture.

So, To Edit or Not to Edit? I’m having fun, so I have no problem editing. How I feel in 6 months may be complete different…..

7 thoughts on “To Edit or Not to Edit – El Matador State Beach Sunset”

  1. This is a great question! If you just want digital photography, you should only edit to the extent you need to capture the essence of what you saw. If you are interested more in digital art, you can completely rework your photo and create a new work of art. If you are somewhere in between, you can choose a style, Impression, Super-Realism, Realism, etc.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. At this point I am more into digital photography. Looking back at the original I was just starting to get off of Auto Mode so my speed and aperture settings were not the best. I do realize that going back to a picture I took 9 months ago is just an editing exercise.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. When I am just into digital photograpy, I want my picture to be as close to the original as possible, without any interpretation on my part. Sometimes this requires changing the light, and sometimes the tint to capture the color. But other than that, I won’t even use impressionistic techniques.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the reflection on the second one.
    I think its ok to color correct says the one who tends to overly process his.
    I also dont care to be correct though =p

    Like

Leave a Reply

